Bob Barry - Community Development Worker

At the time of publication (2010) I'm 59 and have been married for 38 years.  I have two children  - Michael and Louise and three grandchildren, Connor, Jack and Alex. I am a fitter and turner by trade; serving my apprenticeship in the Mountstuart Dry Dock, Cardiff.  Formerly a Junior Engineer in Merchant Navy, Police Officer for six years, based in Cardiff City centre and Docks.  Has worked for Ford Motor Company, Allied Signal and Honeywell, in the engineering department and the laboratory, analysing materials. 

I was made redundant at 50, and retrained to be an NVQ assessor and taught Motor Mechanics for Cardiff Chamber of Commerce to 16-18 year olds. I was seconded to Duffryn Community Link for three months in 2003 and was so impressed that I wanted to come and work here.  Vacancy came up and I started here in April 2004.

Hobbies:  Over the years, I’ve played rugby, football, squash, running and hill walking.  Motorcycling is a great interest of mine, I currently own two bikes (but there could be more in future) and I am an observer with the Institute of Advanced Motorcyclists, although I haven’t been active for several years now due to time constraints.

I have 100 credits towards a HNC in Community Development (120 needed for the qual).  First Aider. Brake Graduate, City and Guilds in Mechanical Engineering. Scanning Electron Microscope Technician. (Cambridge). Hydraulics, Fluid Logic, Fabrication, Pneumatics, ECDL.  Lots of these 1 day things but I won’t include those here.